books, check 'em out

and i need a job, so i want to be a paperback writer

Revolution 12/16/2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — kimbolee @ 8:24 AM

Revolution
Jennifer Donnelly
496 pages
Delacorte, 2010

Um, hello. This is the best book I read in 2010, hands down (and I read a lot of books in 2010).

It’s historical fiction, but it’s the kind of “historical” “fiction” that tricks you by really being set in the present, and then taking you back in time through a diary. Jennifer Donnelly is a trickster!!

Basically, Andi (main character) is depressed about her younger brother’s death, which she feels is her fault. So, she stops doing her schoolwork. Except she goes to a really prestigious school in NYC and her father (a super-genius geneticist who cares more about DNA than his own children) simply won’t stand for that! So he whisks her off to Paris (sooo awesome) and tells her she has to write her senior thesis or ELSE! And then Andi discovers the diary of Alexandrine Paradis, the companion of the dauphin of France, and begins to read her first-hand account of the revolution. And that’s where the real fun begins! (Seriously, it is very wonderfully great).

Anyway, I don’t really want to say a lot about this book because I’m afraid if I think about it too much then I might not like it as much as I do right now. And this book, I want to keep loving.

I’ll just say that if you’ve ever had any interest at all in music, the French Revolution, and the fate of Louis-Charles (or even if you haven’t), then just read the dang book already!

Also, I should note that this novel has a bibliography. ‘Nuff said!

Also also, the cover is beautiful and I like to look at it.

 

Leave a Reply

